Wolfmother’s Cosmic Egg is coming, sooner than we thought!

August 10, 2009 by  

An updated from the band’s Facebook page:


Brothers and sisters the time has come for the long-awaited return of Wolfmother. This October will mark the release of Wolfmother’s second opus, Cosmic Egg. You can get your first taste of the record with the new single, “New Moon Rising” which will be making its world-wide debut at radio and online on August 14th.

Starting this Friday, visit Wolfmother.com for details on pre-ordering the album in your part of the world. Cosmic Egg will be available in a number of formats including CD Album / 2LP Vinyl / CD Album + Vinyl combo / Limited Edition Box Set and more.

1. California Queen
2. New Moon Rising
3. White Feather
4. Sundial
5. In The Morning
6. 10,000 Feet
7. Cosmic Egg
8. Far Away
9. Pilgrim
10. In The Castle
11. Phoenix
12. Violence Of The Sun

Cosmic Egg available in Japan on October 8th
Cosmic Egg available in Australia, Germany, and New Zealand on October 9th
Cosmic Egg available in Europe on October 12th
Cosmic Egg available in USA on October 13th

So this confirms earlier news that there will be multiple formats with a standard 12 song record (as above) being the downloadable version, and special edition box set including the 18 songs mentioned earlier in the year.

Also interesting that there’s no Back Round – maybe that will have been released too long for album inclusion?

Interesting that it will be available in Japan first. And why Germany before the UK, damnit?!

And I almost missed it in the excitement, but new single, New Moon Rising, premiering this Friday!


8 Responses to “Wolfmother’s Cosmic Egg is coming, sooner than we thought!”

  1. Turdface on August 10th, 2009 9:40 pm

    this is awesome news! but why do the japanese always get mad stuff first?

  2. Jimmi on August 10th, 2009 9:48 pm

    ok i am thinking i might buy every version from every country :P haha i am going to have an itunes account for japan.. just so i can download it..

  3. chimaera on August 10th, 2009 9:51 pm

    Crap, I totally missed the fact that there’s a new single coming out this Friday too! =0D

  4. Dutchy on August 11th, 2009 12:33 am

    I’m going to get it delivered to my school if possible. I want an office aid to bring it to me in my classroom and I would interrupt class with my joyous celebration and corresponding dance

  5. Josh on August 11th, 2009 2:49 am

    box set..represent

  6. mr. obvious on August 11th, 2009 6:29 am

    dont you think that Back Round might be included in the 18 song box set?

  7. Schwansz on August 14th, 2009 10:52 am

    But where are Monolith and Inside the mountain??? Those are awesome songs! New moon rising is fantastic though!!!

  8. Bernadine on October 30th, 2018 9:13 pm

    I do not even know the way I ended up here, but I thought this publish used to
    be good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger should you are not already.

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!