New Cosmic Egg details!

August 22, 2009 by  

While we eagerly await the official information from Wolfmother about pre-orders for the upcoming Cosmic Egg, the special edition pre-order has been spotted on Australian site JB Hi-Fi.

The special edition listed has “4 bonus tracks”, full listing below (new tracks in bold):

  1. California Queen
  2. New Moon Rising
  3. White Feather
  4. Sundial
  5. In The Morning
  6. 10,000 Feet
  7. Cosmic Egg
  8. Far Away
  9. Pilgrim
  10. In The Castle
  11. Phoenix
  12. Violence Of The Sun
  13. Cosmonaut
  14. Eyes Open
  15. Back Round
  16. Caroline

Back Round of course we all know and love, but Cosmonaut? Eyes Open? Caroline???! Can’t wait to get my earlobes around these new tracks!

According to we should hear those official pre-order details next week. The site says:

pre-sales for Cosmic Egg are almost upon us.  Starting next week you will be able to pre-order the album worldwide.  The record will come in different versions including a standard version, a 2 LP vinyl version with bonus tracks, and a deluxe version featuring different artwork and bonus tracks.  Pre-orders will have the option to bundle with some great new merch.  Keep your eye out for official store links coming next week, you will not be disappointed!


13 Responses to “New Cosmic Egg details!”

  1. Fwer on August 22nd, 2009 5:08 pm

    with the four extra songs be on itunes in october?

  2. chimaera on August 22nd, 2009 5:24 pm

    Fwer, hard to say but I think it will be available digitally. They are also doing a box set which might have the couple of extra songs we have heard about previously, plus artwork and such.

  3. Fwer on August 22nd, 2009 5:26 pm

    Ok, thanks

  4. Anonymous on August 22nd, 2009 9:03 pm

    Now all I can hope for is that “Inside the Mountain” has been renamed….

  5. Schwansz on August 23rd, 2009 7:44 am

    Yes and what about Monolith? that track was soo awesome, hopefully it has ben renamed too! But im fuckin’ excited

  6. wolfchildalex on August 23rd, 2009 7:58 am

    yes great news and I thought it is only a 12 Tracks album, but as is with tracks like monolith, and inside the mountain and perfect day cover…:-(…. but you can see the video at youtube:
    a cover of new moon rising

  7. wolfchildalex on August 23rd, 2009 8:00 am

    yes great news and I thought it is only a 12 track album, but as is with tracks like monolith, and inside the mountain and perfect day cover ??????

  8. Anonymous on August 23rd, 2009 9:57 am

    get over monolith and inside the mountain already, i think better stuff is on the way

  9. Anonymous on August 23rd, 2009 7:29 pm

    Damn it nothing is better than inside the mountain. Maybe it will be a b-side to one of the singles.

  10. Josh on August 24th, 2009 2:02 am

    i dont think they’re going to release anything from their old stuff, but If they’re going to put ANYTHING on there it should be ‘pleased to meet you’

  11. IVY616 on August 26th, 2009 12:03 am

    Any word on the price for the limited edition?

  12. Waters on August 27th, 2009 9:20 pm

    I think Monolith has been remade and renamed 10,000 feet, judging by a slight similarity in the main riff. I build this hypothesis from listening to the 30 sec preview on iTunes, so don’t take it too seriously :P
    My personal belief is that they’re seperate though. For instance, the Jimi cover was unexpected, so maybe Andrew’s got another ace in his sleeve :) ?

  13. DanLeary on September 2nd, 2009 7:45 pm

    No way, Monolith sounds vastly different then 10,000 ft. They are in the same key, but that is about it. Guitar wise at least, 10,000 ft has a triplet feel, and the bridge is just a classic, metal, pedaled rhythm. Monolith was, and I use the term lightly -funkier, not as dark, and rhythmically it was more varied. That being said, Violence of the Sun had changed vastly, so I’m not ruling out the possibility. I don’t think there is any logic behind that though

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!