Former Drummer Dave Atkins to Appear on Upcoming Third Album?

February 1, 2013 by  

Andrew Stockdale and Dave AtkinsFollowing the news that the upcoming third album from Wolfmother, tentatively titled Gatherings, would feature four drummers and three bassists, it seems as if we have some solid indication of one of the sticksmen joining current band member Hamish Rosser on the record: former band member Dave “Acosta” Atkins.

Earlier on today (February 1st), Wolfmother frontman Andrew Stockdale uploaded an image to his Instagram account captioned “Syked [sic] to be playing at DMS tonight!“, which depicts the singer-guitarist posing in front of a drummer with a striking resemblence to former band member Atkins. Originally from Brisbane, Atkins joined the band around November 2008, taking over from original drummer Myles Heskett as the first enlistment for ‘Phase 2’ of the group and performing on ‘Back Round’, before Ian Peres and Aidan Nemeth completed the new-look four-piece in January 2009. Despite leaving in April 2010 to focus on commitment to his family, Atkins has occasionally re-joined the band to perform live and help out with recording when needed.

With four drummers confirmed as appearing on the album, Atkins and successor Will Rockwell-Scott would be fair assumptions as to two of the three additional contributors, although the fourth is anyone’s guess (and it’s not Heskett!). This will come as welcome news to followers of the band, as Big Dave is somewhat of a cult favourite amongst Wolfmother fans, who applaud his high energy performances and style of play behind the kit.

How would you feel about Atkins appearing on the new album? What’s your take on the whole “four drummers, three bassists” thing in general? Comment below, join in the discussion on our forums, or like our Facebook page!


10 Responses to “Former Drummer Dave Atkins to Appear on Upcoming Third Album?”

  1. Anonymous on February 1st, 2013 7:47 pm

    I think that the 4th drummer might be Elliot, somebody told that he’s a great drummer.

  2. Anonymous on February 2nd, 2013 2:29 pm

    as long as Stockdale is in it, they’re gold!

  3. Igor on February 2nd, 2013 4:41 pm

    Elliot is going to be the fourth (i have that feeling) a yes he is a great drummer beside being a fantastic harmonica player and a SINGER in his band “The Delta Riggs”, check them out !

    I’m not such a huge fan of mixing many players on one record, but hey if it’ll make a record sound different and progressive (then why not).

    I really can’t wait to hear a studio version of the song “Off the Earth”

    I think the sound of WM on this new album is going to be slightly bluesier than the first two. Which in some domain is very good for a innovative progression, a not copying some songs that you already did and which were great !

    That’s my opinion on this subject at the moment

  4. sonita on February 3rd, 2013 11:51 pm

    the reason there are so many drummers is because this album has been in the works since 2011 when it was a different lineup. andrew doesn’t want to submit it to the huge producer again because of the over produced sound of cosmic egg and also because he’s put so much money and time into recording it and they will just ask him to do it over. It will have bits and pieces of many members. Peres, Scott, Stockdale, Nemeth, Hammond, Rosser, Atkins and that extra dude Blue Steele or whatever his name is . It’s like a greatest hits! oh wolfmother. we love you though.

  5. André Pusey on February 4th, 2013 9:26 am

    Latest predictions on the forums are for Ian Peres, Andrew Stockdale and Vin Steele (rhythm guitarist) on bass, Hamish Rosser, Will Rockwell-Scott, Dave Atkins and unknown on drums.

  6. Plastic Zeppelin on February 8th, 2013 8:52 pm

    I’ll be uncannily shocked if this album ever actually makes it to the shelves. Stockdale has been saying it will come out soon ever since early 2011. I remember him middle of last year saying that “waiting til 2013 to release the album would be JUST WRONG.” Next he’s likely going to say it will come out in the summer or something and then it won’t. Then another year of hearing nothing will go by and maybe once everybody has lost interest in them (which honestly, I’m starting to do) a mediocre album will be released and we’ll never hear anything from Wolfmother again except maybe some small gigs in clubs and hotels.

    But hey, prove me wrong guys and get that abum out already.

  7. ross on February 10th, 2013 4:35 am

    plastic zep, sadly what youre saying sounds belivable. who really knows when this thing’ll be out. but i’m betting june/july now

  8. Will Setka on February 25th, 2013 3:50 am

    Wolfmother really set the trend for these new sort of wanabe classic rock bands like Rival sons, the sheepdogs, and the muggs. all three of them are good but wolfmother is by far the best. Just release the album so we can get some real rock n roll on those charts

  9. Third Album Complete, Set for Release : The Original Wolfmother Fan Site on February 26th, 2013 12:01 am

    […] revealed late last year the record will feature three bassists and four drummers, one of which is said to be Cosmic Egg drummer Dave Atkins. The most recently revealed title is Gatherings, although this is yet to be confirmed as the final […]

  10. Nina on August 5th, 2014 1:27 am

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared
    to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out
    the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Look into my blog postat free psn code to my email [Nina]

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!